Schedule

Event Sessions

  • 10/26/22 @ 11a ET/10a CT/8a PT - [Pre-Event Training] Mentor Overview and Training (Mentors and Staff Only) (1hrs) [Training]
    Presenter: Je'aime Powell [ ] - Senior HPC Systems Administrator and Researcher | Texas Advanced Computing Center
    Presenter: Charlie Dey [ ] - | Texas Advanced Computing Center

    [Description/Topics]
    Mentor training and event overview.

    Video Link: [ Mentor Overview Recording ]

    File(s): [ [Updated] Mentor Overview Slide Deck ]
  • 11/2/22 @ 11a ET/10a CT/8a PT - [Pre-Event Training] CloudyCluster and Google Cloud Platform Overview (1hrs) [Training]     [Add to Calendar]
    Presenter: Cole McKnight [ ] - CloudyCluster Engineer | Omnibond Systems
    Zoom : [Meeting Link]

    [Description/Topics]
    Tutorial/Training session on the use of Omnibond's CloudyCluster on the Google Cloud Platform.

    Video Link: [ CloudyCluster and Google Cloud Platform Overview Recording ]

    File(s): [ CloudyCluster and Google Cloud Platform Overview Slide Deck ]
    Resource Links: [ Google Qwiklabs ] [ Google Cloud Platform (GCP) ] [ CloudyCluster on GCP Marketplace ]
  • 11/3/22 @ 11a ET/10a CT/8a PT - [Pre-Event Training] GitHub and Discord Overview (1hrs) [Training]     [Add to Calendar]
    Presenter: Je'aime Powell [ ] - Senior HPC Systems Administrator and Researcher | Texas Advanced Computing Center
    Zoom : [Meeting Link]

    [Description/Topics]
    Tutorial/Training session on the use of Discord and creation of Github repositories.

    Video Link: [ GitHub and Discord Overview Recording ]

    File(s): [ GitHub and Discord Overview Slide Deck ]
    Resource Links: [ HackHPC Discord Server ] [ GitHub ] [ Example Github Repo Demo ] [ HPC in the City Site Github Repo ] [ GitHub Markdown Reference ]
  • 11/3/22 @ 7p ET/6p CT/4p PT - KICK-OFF!! (2hrs) [Checkin/Training]     [Add to Calendar]
    Presenter: Je'aime Powell [ ] - Senior HPC Systems Administrator and Researcher | Texas Advanced Computing Center
    Presenter: Alex Nolte [ ] - | University of Tartu
    Zoom : [Meeting Link]

    [Description/Topics]
    Overview, Code of Conduct, Mentor Project Pitches, Team Formation

    Video Link: [ Code of Conduct ] [ Judging Criteria ] [ Kick-Off Session Video ]

    File(s): [ Code of Conduct Slides ] [ Judging Criteria Slides ] [ Kick-Off Slide Deck ] [ Mentor Pitch Slides ]
  • 11/4/22 @ 11a ET/10a CT/8a PT - Judges Overview (Event Judges Only) (1hrs) [Training]     [Add to Calendar]
    Presenter: Linda Hayden
    Zoom : [Meeting Link]

    [Description/Topics]
    Overview of judging criterial and methodologies.


  • 11/4/22 @ 12p ET/11a CT/9a PT - Friday Morning Checkin (1hrs) [Checkin]     [Add to Calendar]
    Zoom : [Meeting Link]

    [Description/Topics]
    [Team Presentation] Team Introductions (1-slide/1-minute)
       - Team name
       - Team members including Mentor and Co-Mentor
       - Team Theme song
       - Team Virtual background

    🏆 Team "Sonar Skills" - Best Team Introduction Award

    Video Link: [ Team Introductions Video ]

    File(s): [ Team Introduction Slide Deck ]
  • 11/4/22 @ 7p ET/6p CT/4p PT - Friday Evening Checkin (1hrs) [Checkin]     [Add to Calendar]
    Zoom : [Meeting Link]

    [Description/Topics]
    [Team Presentation] Project Goals (1-slide/1-minute)

    Video Link: [ Team Goals Video ]

    File(s): [ Team Goals Slide Deck ]
  • 11/5/22 @ 11a ET/10a CT/8a PT - Saturday Morning Checkin (1hrs) [Checkin]     [Add to Calendar]
    Presenter: Melyssa Fratkin [ ] - Industrial Programs Director | Texas Advanced Computing Center
    Zoom : [Meeting Link]

    [Description/Topics]
    [Supporter Welcome] TACC/Women in HPC
    [Team Presentation] Project Status and Tasking (1-slide/1-minute)


    Resource Links: [ Texas Advanced Computing Center (TACC) Jobs ] [ Women in HPC ]
  • 11/5/22 @ 7p ET/6p CT/4p PT - Saturday Evening Checkin (1hrs) [Checkin]     [Add to Calendar]
    Presenter: Amy Cannon [ ] - | Omnibond Systems
    Zoom : [Meeting Link]

    [Description/Topics]
    [Supporter Welcome] Omnibond Systems
    [Team Presentation] Project 1-Day Progress (1-slide/1-minute)


  • 11/6/22 @ 11a ET/10a CT/8a PT - Sunday Morning Checkin (1hrs) [Checkin]     [Add to Calendar]
    Zoom : [Meeting Link]

    [Description/Topics]
    [Team Presentation] Project Status and Tasking (1-slide/1-minute)

    🏆 Team "Team Genie" - 1-Day Project Progress Award

    File(s): [ 1-Day Team Goal Slides ]
  • 11/7/22 @ 11a ET/10a CT/8a PT - Monday Morning - Last Checkin (1hrs) [Checkin]     [Add to Calendar]
    Presenter: Dr. Linda Hayden [ ] - | Science Gateways Community Institute
    Presenter: Tom Krueger [ ] - HPC and Enterprise Sales Leader | Intel Corporation
    Zoom : [Meeting Link]

    [Description/Topics]
    [Supporter Welcome] Science Gateways Community Institute
    [Supporter Welcome] Intel Corporation
    [Mentor Presentation] Team Introduction Videos
    - Post Survey Opens
    - Viewer’s Choice Ballot Opens


    Resource Links: [ Science Gateways Community Institute(SGCI) ] [ ORNL Winter Crash Course ] [ The Association of Computer Science Departments at Minority Institutions (ADMI) ] [ ADMI 2023: Symposium on Computing at Minority Institutions ] [ Post Survey ] [ Viewer’s Choice Ballot ] [ YouTube Livestream ]
  • 11/7/22 @ 6p ET/5p CT/3p PT - Final Presentations (1hrs) [Presentations]     [Add to Calendar]
    Zoom : [Meeting Link]

    [Description/Topics]
    [Deliverables Due] Github Repo Link
      - PDF of Presentation Slides
       - Source code
       - README.md with Project Goals and Team Members

    Video Link: [ YouTube Livestream ]


    Resource Links: [ Post Survey ] [ Viewer’s Choice Ballot ]
  • Thank you to our Supporters!!

    CloudyCluster Science Gateways Community Institute Globus Intel Texas Advanced Computing Center Google Cloud XSEDE

    About

    Bring your energy and enthusiasm to this years hackthon. Leave with technical excellence, enabled by Omnibond and the NSF-funded Science Gateways Community Institute (SGCI) along with partners such as Intel HPC, ORNL, Voltron Data, Google Cloud, TACC, and Globus. We have joined forces in creating a diverse new generation of HPC data scientists and programmers.

    Our Bunker

    Website: http://hackhpc.org